| 1. |
Strategy and analysis |
|
|
| |
|
| 1.1 |
|
Statement from the most senior decision maker of the organisation. |
|
Fully |
|
Chairman's report page 6 |
| 2. |
Organisational profile |
|
|
| |
| |
2.1 |
|
Name of the organisation. |
|
Fully |
|
Cover  |
| |
2.2 |
|
Primary brands, products and/or services. |
|
Fully |
|
Profile, page 2 |
| |
2.3 |
|
Operational structure of the organisation, including main divisions, operating companies, subsidiaries, and joint ventures. |
|
Fully |
|
Our business, page 18 |
| |
2.4 |
|
Location of organisation's headquarters. |
|
Fully |
|
Profile, page 2 |
| |
2.5 |
|
Number of countries where the organisation operates, and names of countries with either major operations or that are specifically relevant to the sustainability issues covered in the report. |
|
Fully |
|
Profile, page 18 |
| |
2.6 |
|
Nature of ownership and legal form. |
|
Fully |
|
Profile, page 2 and our business structure,
page 18 |
| |
2.7 |
|
Markets served (including geographic breakdown, sectors served, and types of customers/beneficiaries). |
|
Fully |
|
Profile, page 2 and our business structure,
page 18 |
| |
2.8 |
|
Scale of the reporting organisation. |
|
Fully |
|
Profile, page 2 and our business structure,
page 18 |
| |
2.9 |
|
Significant changes during the reporting period regarding size, structure, or ownership. |
|
Fully |
|
About this report, page 1 |
|
| 2.10 |
|
Awards received in the reporting period. |
|
Fully |
|
Hyprop received the award for best report and communication award, best company presentation to companies with market capitalisation between R5 – R30 billion from the Investment Analyst Society of Southern Africa |
| 3. |
Report parameters |
|
|
| |
| |
3.1 |
|
Reporting period (eg fiscal/calendar year) for information provided. |
|
Fully |
|
About this report, page 1 |
| |
3.2 |
|
Date of most recent previous report (if any). |
|
Fully |
|
About this report, page 1 |
| |
3.3 |
|
Reporting cycle (annual, biennial, etc). |
|
Fully |
|
About this report, page 1 |
| |
3.4 |
|
Contact point for questions regarding the report or its contents. |
|
Fully |
|
Inside front cover |
| |
3.5 |
|
Process for defining report content. |
|
Fully |
|
About this report, page 1 |
| |
3.6 |
|
Boundary of the report (eg countries, divisions, subsidiaries, leased facilities, joint ventures, suppliers). See GRI Boundary Protocol for further guidance. |
|
Fully |
|
About this report, page 1 |
| |
3.7 |
|
State any specific limitations on the scope or boundary of the report (see completeness principle for explanation of scope). |
|
Fully |
|
About this report, page 1 |
| |
3.8 |
|
Basis for reporting on joint ventures, subsidiaries, leased facilities, outsourced operations, and other entities that can significantly affect comparability from period to period and/or between organisations. |
|
Fully |
|
About this report, page 1 |
| |
3.10 |
|
Explanation of the effect of any restatements of information provided in earlier reports, and the reasons for such restatement (eg mergers/acquisitions, change of base years/periods, nature of business, measurement methods). |
|
Fully |
|
About this report, page 1 |
| |
3.11 |
|
Significant changes from previous reporting periods in the scope, boundary, or measurement methods applied in the report. |
|
Fully |
|
About this report, page 1 |
|
| 3.12 |
|
Table identifying the location of the standard disclosures in the report. |
|
Fully |
|
Website |
| 4. |
Governance, commitments and equipment |
|
|
| |
| |
4.1 |
|
Governance structure of the organisation, including committees under the highest governance body responsible for specific tasks, such as setting strategy or organisational oversight. |
|
Fully |
|
How we govern and manage our business,
page 58 and governance, page 62 |
| |
4.2 |
|
Indicate whether the chairperson of the highest governance body is also an executive officer. |
|
Fully |
|
Governance, page 64 |
| |
4.3 |
|
For organisations that have a unitary board structure, state the number and gender of members of the highest governance body that are independent and/or non-executive members. |
|
Fully |
|
Governance, page 64 |
| |
4.4 |
|
Mechanisms for shareholders and employees to provide recommendations or direction to the highest governance body. |
|
Fully |
|
Governance, page 65 |
| |
4.14 |
|
List of stakeholder groups engaged by the organisation. |
|
Fully |
|
Stakeholder engagement, page 27 and supplemental information,
Stakeholder engagement
|
| |
4.15 |
|
Basis for identification and selection of stakeholders with whom to engage. |
|
Partially |
|
Supplemental information,
Stakeholder engagement |
| Standard disclosures part III: Performance indicators
|
| |
|
|
|
|  |
 |
 |
| Profile |
|
Disclosure |
|
Level of reporting |
|
Location of disclosures |
| Economic
|
| |
|
|
|
| Economic performance |
|
|
|
|
| |
EC1 |
|
Direct economic value generated and distributed, including revenues, operating costs, employee compensation, donations and other community investments, retained earnings, and payments to capital providers and governments. |
|
Fully |
|
Value added statement, page 17; human capital, page 39; and social capital — community investments, page 43 |
| |
EC2 |
|
Financial implications and other risks and opportunities for the organisation's activities due to climate change and other sustainability issues. |
|
Partially |
|
Risk management, page 50 and natural capital, page 46 |
| |
EC3 |
|
Coverage of the organisation's defined benefit plan obligations. |
|
Fully |
|
of annual financial statements |
|
| EC4 |
|
Significant financial assistance received from government. |
|
None |
|
None |
|
| Market presence |
|
|
|
|
| |
EC5 |
|
Range of ratios of standard entry-level wage by gender compared to local minimum wage at significant locations of operation. |
|
None |
|
Not reported |
| |
EC6 |
|
Policy, practices, and proportion of spending on locally based suppliers at significant locations of operation. |
|
Partially |
|
Social capital – preferential procurement,
page 43 |
|
| EC7 |
|
Procedures for local hiring and proportion of senior management and all direct employees, contractors and subcontractors hired from the local community at significant locations of operation. |
|
Partially |
|
Human capital — 98,5% of Hyprop's employees are South African nationals. For projects, we stipulate our preference for hiring local people with the required skills, page 39 |
|
| Indirect economic impacts |
|
|
|
|
| |
EC8 |
|
Development and impact of infrastructure investments and services provided primarily for public benefit through commercial, in-kind, or pro bono engagement. |
|
Partially |
|
Hyprop invested in-kind resources of R2,1 million during the year as part of its citizenship initiatives. Other investments include implementing the infrastructure for wi-fi facilities for customer convenience in shopping centres CSI |
|
| EC9 |
|
Understanding and describing significant indirect economic impacts, including the extent of impacts. |
|
Partially |
|
While this is not formally measured at present, the nature of our business dictates that we understand and address any significant indirect economic impacts |
| Profile |
|
Disclosure |
|
Level of reporting |
|
Location of disclosures |
| Environmental
|
| |
|
|
|
| Materials |
|
|
|
|
| |
EN1 |
|
Materials used by weight, value or volume. |
|
None |
|
Not reported. The nature of Hyprop’s business makes it a comparatively low user of input materials |
|
| EN2 |
|
Percentage of materials used that are recycled and reused input materials. |
|
Partially |
|
Environmental capital — initiatives are under way to recycle and reuse materials, where feasible. Hyprop recycled 67% of total waste, up from 60% in 2013, page 48 Waste |
|
| Energy |
|
|
|
|
| |
EN3 |
|
Direct energy consumption by primary energy source. |
|
Fully |
|
Environmental capital — conserving energy and water, page 47 Natural Capital |
| |
EN4C |
|
Indirect energy consumption by primary source. |
|
Partially |
|
Environmental capital — conserving energy and water, page 47 Natural Capital |
| |
CRE1 |
|
Building energy intensity. |
|
Partially |
|
Hyprop is monitoring energy intensity, but as 2014 was our first reporting year under the Carbon Disclosure Project, there is no comparable figure page 46 |
| |
EN5 |
|
Energy saved due to conservation and efficiency improvements. |
|
Fully |
|
4,9 million kWh energy saved over 22 months to end-June 2014, generating cost savings of almost R6 million. Environmental capital — conserving energy and water, page 46 |
| |
EN6 |
|
Initiatives to provide energy-efficient or renewable energy-based products and services, and reductions in energy requirements as a result of these initiatives. |
|
Fully |
|
See EN5 |
|
| EN7 |
|
Initiatives to reduce indirect energy consumption and reductions achieved. |
|
None |
|
Not measured |
|
| Water |
|
|
|
|
| |
EN8 |
|
Total water withdrawal by source. |
|
None |
|
Not reported |
| |
EN9 |
|
Water sources significantly affected by withdrawal of water. |
|
None |
|
Not reported as all potable water sourced from municipalities |
| |
EN10 |
|
Percentage and total volume of water recycled and reused. |
|
Not |
|
Not reported |
|
| CRE2 |
|
Building water intensity. |
|
Partially |
|
Water intensity for the group for the year was 1,59kl/m2 page 47 |
|
| Biodiversity |
|
|
|
|
| |
EN11 |
|
Location and size of land owned, leased, managed in, or adjacent to, protected areas and areas of high biodiversity value outside protected areas. |
|
Fully |
|
Environmental capital — Hyprop has two centres in areas of high biodiversity value — Canal Walk and Willowbridge. These operate in accordance with approved environmental management plans
page 48 |
| |
EN12 |
|
Description of significant impacts of activities, products, and services on biodiversity in protected areas and areas of high biodiversity value outside protected areas. |
|
Partially |
|
See EN11 |
| |
EN13 |
|
Habitats protected or restored. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
| |
EN14 |
|
Strategies, current actions, and future plans for managing impacts on biodiversity. |
|
Partially |
|
See EN11 |
|
| EN15 |
|
Number of IUCN Red List species and national conservation list species with habitats in areas affected by operations, by level of extinction risk. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| Emissions, effluents and waste |
|
|
|
|
| |
EN16 |
|
Total direct and indirect greenhouse gas emissions by weight. |
|
Fully |
|
Scope 1:5 320tCO2e, scope 2:34 711
tCO2e, scope 3:243 154tCO2e,
page 46 |
| |
EN17 |
|
Other relevant indirect greenhouse gas emissions by weight. |
|
None |
|
Not measured |
| |
CRE3 |
|
Greenhouse gas emissions intensity from buildings. |
|
None |
|
Not measured |
| |
CRE4 |
|
Greenhouse gas emissions intensity from new construction and redevelopment activity. |
|
None |
|
Hyprop does not measure greenhouse gas emissions from construction. We do monitor construction-related electrical consumption and fuel (diesel) consumption. This is miminal relative to our overall consumption |
| |
EN18 |
|
Initiatives to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and reductions achieved. |
|
Partially |
|
Environmental capital, page 46 |
| |
EN19 |
|
Emissions of ozone-depleting substances by weight. |
|
None |
|
Not reported |
| |
EN20 |
|
NOx, SOx, and other significant air emissions by type and weight. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
| |
EN21 |
|
Total water discharge by quality and destination. |
|
None |
|
Not reported |
| |
EN22 |
|
Total weight of waste by type and disposal method. |
|
Partially |
|
Environmental capital — not currently reported but initiatives under way to manage waste more effectively
page 48 |
| |
EN23 |
|
Total number and volume of significant spills. |
|
Fully |
|
None |
| |
EN24 |
|
Weight of transported, imported, exported, or treated waste deemed hazardous under the terms of the Basel Convention Annex I, II, III, and VIII, and percentage of transported waste shipped internationally. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| EN25 |
|
Identity, size, protected status, and biodiversity value of water bodies and related habitats significantly affected by the reporting organisation’s discharges of water and runoff. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| Land degradation, contamination and remediation |
|
|
|
|
|
| CRE5 |
|
Land and other assets remediated and in need of remediation for the existing or intended land use according to applicable legal designations. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| Products and services |
|
|
|
|
| |
EN26 |
|
Initiatives to enhance efficiency and mitigate environmental impacts of products and services, and extent of impact mitigation. |
|
None |
|
Environmental capital — not reported. Hyprop is a member of the Green Building Council of South Africa and adheres to these environmental standards as far as practically possible in redevelopment projects |
|
| EN27 |
|
Percentage of products sold and their packaging materials that are reclaimed by category. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| Compliance |
|
|
|
|
|
| EN28 |
|
Monetary value of significant fines and total number of non-monetary sanctions for non-compliance with environmental laws and regulations. |
|
None |
|
Hyprop incurred no fines for non—compliance with environmental laws and regulations during the year (page 46) |
|
| Tansport |
|
|
|
|
|
| EN29 |
|
Significant environmental impacts of transporting products and other goods and materials used for the organisation’s operations, and transporting members of the workforce. |
|
Partially |
|
Determing Hyprop’s carbon footprint,
page 46 |
|
| Overall |
|
|
|
|
|
| EN30 |
|
Total environmental protection expenditures and investments by type. |
|
Partially |
|
Environmental capital — only energy savings reported at present page 45 |
| Profile |
|
Disclosure |
|
Level of reporting |
|
Location of disclosures |
| Social: Labor practices and decent work
|
| |
|
|
|
| Employment |
|
|
|
|
| |
LA1 |
|
Total workforce by employment type, employment contract, and region, broken down by gender. |
|
Fully |
|
Human capital, page 39 |
| |
LA2 |
|
Total number and rate of new employee hires and employee turnover by age group, gender, and region. |
|
Partially |
|
Human capital, page 40 |
| |
LA3 |
|
Benefits provided to full-time employees that are not provided to temporary or part-time employees, by major operations. |
|
Fully |
|
Human capital, page 43 |
|
| LA15 |
|
Return to work and retention rates after parental leave, by gender. |
|
None |
|
Not reported |
|
| Labor/management relations |
|
|
|
|
| |
LA4 |
|
Percentage of employees covered by collective bargaining agreements. |
|
None |
|
Human capital — Hyprop has no unionised employees page 43 |
|
| LA5 |
|
Minimum notice period(s) regarding significant operational changes, including whether it is specified in collective agreements. |
|
None |
|
Human capital — not applicable |
|
| Occupational health and safety |
|
|
|
|
| |
LA6 |
|
Percentage of total workforce represented in formal joint management-worker health and safety committees that help monitor and advise on occupational health and safety programmes. |
|
Partially |
|
Human capital — formal committee in place at Canal Walk. All other centres adhere to the group health and safety policy
page 42 |
| |
LA7 |
|
Rates of injury, occupational diseases, lost days, and absenteeism, and number of work-related fatalities by region and by gender. |
|
Fully |
|
Human capital — none |
| |
CRE6 |
|
Percentage of the organisation operating in verified compliance with an internationally recognised health and safety management system. |
|
Fully |
|
All properties managed by Hyprop comply with South African occupational health and safety regulations page 42 |
| |
LA8 |
|
Education, training, counseling, prevention, and risk control programmes in place to assist workforce members, their families, or community members regarding serious diseases. |
|
Partially |
|
Human capital — HIV/Aids initiatives, wellness programmes, page 42 |
|
| LA9 |
|
Health and safety topics covered in formal agreements with trade unions. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| Training and education |
|
|
|
|
| |
LA10 |
|
Average hours of training per year per employee by gender, and by employee category. |
|
Partially |
|
Human capital — skills development and training, page 40 |
| |
LA11 |
|
Programmes for skills management and lifelong learning that support the continued employability of employees and assist them in managing career endings. |
|
None |
|
Not reported |
|
| LA12 |
|
Percentage of employees receiving regular performance and career development reviews, by gender. |
|
Fully |
|
Human capital, page 40 |
|
| Diversity and equal opportunity |
|
|
|
|
|
| LA13 |
|
Composition of governance bodies and breakdown of employees per employee category according to gender, age group, minority group membership, and other indicators of diversity. |
|
Partially |
|
Human capital — employment equity,
page 39 |
|
| Equal remuneration for women and men |
|
|
|
|
|
| LA14 |
|
Ratio of basic salary and remuneration of women to men by employee category, by significant locations of operation. |
|
Fully |
|
Remuneration is determined by level of responsibility, training and experience
page 70 |
| Profile |
|
Disclosure |
|
Level of reporting |
|
Location of disclosures |
| Social: Human rights
|
| |
|
|
|
| Investment and procurement practices |
|
|
|
|
| |
HR1 |
|
Percentage and total number of significant investment agreements and contracts that include clauses incorporating human rights concerns, or that have undergone human rights screening. |
|
None |
|
Not reported |
| |
HR2 |
|
Percentage of significant suppliers, contractors and other business partners that have undergone human rights screening, and actions taken. |
|
Partially |
|
Social and relationship capital — Hyprop's assessment criteria consider South African legislation, which currently focuses more on employment equity
page 43 |
|
| HR3 |
|
Total hours of employee training on policies and procedures concerning aspects of human rights that are relevant to operations, including the percentage of employees trained. |
|
None |
|
Not reported |
|
| Non-discrimination |
|
|
|
|
|
| HR4 |
|
Total number of incidents of discrimination and actions taken. |
|
Fully |
|
None |
|
| Freedom of association and collective bargaining |
|
|
|
|
|
| HR5 |
|
Operations and significant suppliers identified in which the right to exercise freedom of association and collective bargaining may be violated or at significant risk, and actions taken to support these rights. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable, as Hyprop has no unionised employees page 43 |
|
| Child labour |
|
|
|
|
|
| HR6 |
|
Operations and significant suppliers identified as having significant risk for incidents of child labour, and measures taken to contribute to the effective abolition of child labour. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| Prevention of forced and compulsory labour |
|
|
|
|
|
| HR7 |
|
Operations and significant suppliers identified as having significant risk for incidents of forced or compulsory labour, and measures to contribute to the elimination of all forms of forced or compulsory labour. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| Security practices |
|
|
|
|
|
| HR8 |
|
Percentage of security personnel trained in the organisation's policies or procedures concerning aspects of human rights that are relevant to operations. |
|
Partially |
|
100% — forms part of Hyprop’s code of conduct |
|
| Indigenous rights |
|
|
|
|
|
| HR9 |
|
Total number of incidents of violations involving rights of indigenous people and actions taken. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| Assesement |
|
|
|
|
|
| HR10 |
|
Percentage and total number of operations that have been subject to human rights reviews and/or impact assessments. |
|
None |
|
None |
|
| Remediation |
|
|
|
|
|
| HR11 |
|
Number of grievances related to human rights filed, addressed and resolved through formal
grievance mechanisms. |
|
Fully |
|
None |
| Profile |
|
Disclosure |
|
Level of reporting |
|
Location of disclosures |
| Social: Society
|
| |
|
|
|
| Local communities |
|
|
|
|
| |
SO1 |
|
Percentage of operations with implemented local community engagement, impact assessments, and development programmes. |
|
Fully |
|
Social and relationship capital — all Hyprop centres actively engage with their communities, page 43 CSI |
| |
SO9 |
|
Operations with significant potential or actual negative and positive impacts on local communities. |
|
Fully |
|
Social and relationship capital — Hyprop's impact on local communities is predominantly positive, from employment to community development and contributing to improved quality of life
CSI |
| |
SO10 |
|
Prevention and mitigation measures implemented in operations with significant potential or actual negative impacts on local communities. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| CRE7 |
|
Number of persons voluntarily and involuntarily displaced and/or resettled by development, broken down by project. |
|
Fully |
|
None |
|
| Corruption |
|
|
|
|
| |
SO2 |
|
Percentage and total number of business units analysed for risks related to corruption. |
|
Fully |
|
Zero. Fraud and corruption are specifically dealt with in Hyprop's code of conduct, available on our website  |
|
| SO3 |
|
Percentage of employees trained in organisation's anti-corruption policies and procedures. |
|
Fully |
|
There has been no need for specific training as employees adhere to our code of conduct, which is communicated internally and through our website  |
|
| SO4 |
|
Actions taken in response to incidents of corruption. |
|
Fully |
|
No incidents reported |
|
| Public policy |
|
|
|
|
| |
SO5 |
|
Public policy positions and participation in public policy development and lobbying. |
|
Fully |
|
Stakeholder engagement, page 27
Stakeholder engagement |
|
| SO6 |
|
Total value of financial and in-kind contributions to political parties, politicians, and related institutions by country. |
|
Fully |
|
The company does not make any donations to political parties (disclosed in code of conduct on the website) |
|
| Anti-competitive behaviour |
|
|
|
|
|
| SO7 |
|
Total number of legal actions for anti-competitive behaviour, anti-trust, and monopoly practices and their outcomes. |
|
Fully |
|
None |
|
| Compliance |
|
|
|
|
|
| SO8 |
|
Monetary value of significant fines and total number of non-monetary sanctions for non-compliance with laws and regulations. |
|
Fully |
|
None |
| Profile |
|
Disclosure |
|
Level of reporting |
|
Location of disclosures |
| Social: Product responsibilities
|
| |
|
|
|
| Customer health and safety |
|
|
|
|
| |
PR1 |
|
Lifecycle stages in which health and safety impacts of products and services are assessed for improvement, and percentage of significant products and services categories subject to such procedures. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| PR2 |
|
Total number of incidents of non-compliance with regulations and voluntary codes concerning health and safety impacts of products and services during their lifecycle, by type of outcomes. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| Product and service labelling |
|
|
|
|
| |
PR3 |
|
Type of product and service information required by procedures, and percentage of significant products and services subject to such information requirements. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
| |
CRE8 |
|
Type and number of sustainability certification, rating and labeling schemes for new construction, management, occupation and redevelopment. |
|
Partially |
|
Hyprop is a member of the Green Buildings Council of South Africa and adheres wherever practical to green standards in redevelopments |
| |
PR4 |
|
Total number of incidents of non-compliance with regulations and voluntary codes concerning product and service information and labelling, by type of outcomes. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| PR5 |
|
Practices related to customer satisfaction, including results of surveys measuring customer satisfaction. |
|
None |
|
Not applicable |
|
| Marketing communications |
|
|
|
|
| |
PR6 |
|
Programmes for adherence to laws, standards, and voluntary codes related to marketing communications, including advertising, promotion, and sponsorship. |
|
Fully |
|
Hyprop complies with all relevant local legislation |
|
| PR7 |
|
Total number of incidents of non-compliance with regulations and voluntary codes concerning marketing communications, including advertising, promotion, and sponsorship by type of outcomes. |
|
Fully |
|
None |
|
| Customer privacy |
|
|
|
|
|
| PR8 |
|
Total number of substantiated complaints regarding breaches of customer privacy and losses of customer data. |
|
Fully |
|
None |
|
| Compliance |
|
|
|
|
| |
PR9 |
|
Monetary value of significant fines for non-compliance with laws and regulations concerning the provision and use of products and services. |
|
Fully |
|
None |